Afterwords: L.A Noire

la-noire-20110514013112081-3449380_640w
Watch Out!

Back in 2011, before GTA V arrived, there was a little game called L.A Noire. A Police Investigation game set in 1947 Los Angeles. It was a risky game, it took alot of risks and it became one of my favorite games of all time and of 2011. It was a one shot game, and now that a sequel may never happen or it could happen, I take a look back at this gem of a game.

In 2006, I heard of this game called L.A Noire and watched the trailer for it. It’s moody tone, it’s jazzy undertone and it’s unique setting of Post-World War II America looked fascinating and fast forward to May of 2011, the game released and I brought it. It was the first time I heard of a game like that, a unique Rockstar game that adds to Rockstar’s great collection and great line-ups of games and of course it was a unique take on the mystery / police / crime genre.

la-noire-20110509030831559-3444049_640w
Hey, Kent ( or is it Ken?)  ( Mad Men reference.)

The moment that I played the opening of L.A Noire, that you’re just starting out and investigating a case meant for the Homicide desk and you’re a soldier that has returned from fighting in World War II, it turned out to be unique and interesting. It had hooked me from the very start. It was the Golden Age of Hollywood, where anything could happen in a world where everything was “Golden.” and also it offered you a glimpse at how life was in Post-War America.

It was a very interesting premise, including the gameplay. The gameplay and atmosphere is one of my favorite parts of L.A Noire. As a person who loves Atmospheric stuff and gameplay, I hold gameplay just as responsible as the game itself: The characters, Atmosphere, Is it interesting? The gameplay of L.A Noire was top notch stuff. It’s investigation methods, the technology behind the facial expressions even if the gunplay felt loose and repetitive, those aspects made the game for me.

LA-Noire_screenshot_PS3_038.jpg-600x320

The atmosphere was honestly one of the best parts of L.A Noire, this authentically recreated look of Post-War Los Angeles was interesting. It delivered on my part, even if there wasn’t much to do  or much side quests, I felt invested in this period-era ride and I felt like I was alongside Cole Phelps and whatever partner he had as I progressed through the desks.

Whenever I think of L.A Noire through rose-tinted glasses, I think of these things that I mentioned above. I would love to see a sequel someday, but it’s definitely okay to leave it at one.

Leave a Reply

