E3 2016: Game of the Show

bf1eaplay02destructionwmjpg-c1f46c_640w

 

E3 week is over and what came with it were amazing games that we all can’t wait for. Games from Battlefield 1 to Dead Rising 4 to Days Gone, all of these games were brilliant but like always two needs to be Game of the Show. Battlefield 1 is that Game of the Show, it blew me away from the trailer and from the Livestream that showcased Battlefield 1’s multiplayer which looks and sounds awesome.

Why is Battlefield 1 my Game of the Show? It’s pretty self-explanatory, the amount of info they revealed to us in that livestream was brilliant. From bayonet charges to weird looking tanks and biplanes, including the setting of the Great War has me excited. This game should be on your list because it sounds and looks refreshing from all the screenshots and the trailers and the fact that’s it a return to World War which has me excited. It’s been nearly 8 years since we last had a World War game, that game was Call of Duty: World at War which released in November of 2008, and in that time we never got a big triple A World War game that wasn’t strategy. I believe truly that in the next few years, World War will make a comeback and will live side by side next to the futuristic warfare games like Call of Duty, Titanfall, etc. The gameplay is very reminiscent of Battlefield 1942 / BFBC2, it looked great.

battlefield1reveal04jpg-6da48c_640w

 

Battlefield 1 has this sense of scale, how large the Great War was and has this sense of scale that I believe none of the main Battlefield games starting with 3 ever had, it has a sense of scale that BFBC2 had and BFBC had and of course Battlefield 1942 had, it’s this game that looks good and has a sense of how dangerous World War I was with weapons that couldn’t have been made possible in the early to mid 1800’s and only was achieved in the 1880’s-1890’s, these automatic and semi-automatic weapons that dealt quite a punch and was extremely deadly and of course the introductions of tanks, airplanes, submarines, zeppelins and the introduction of ¬†Mustard Gas and the introduction of Gas Masks. It’s truly the beginning of Modern Warfare, I’m glad that DICE is returning to World War and I’m glad that DICE is not following the trend.

Now on to Prey, despite not getting any sort of gameplay just a small look at the game is fine. I’ve been waiting for Prey to make a comeback for years now, and to see that the rumors about Arkane Austin working on it and that my predictions about it were true makes me happy. I believe that Prey deserves my runner up because it’s been a long time since we last saw it, and even if it isn’t the space bounty hunter thing that we saw E3 2011, it’s still fine. I’m certain that next year, we’ll get a in-depth Fallout 4 / Dishonored 2 look at Prey and it’s going to be awesome. I can’t wait for Fall 2017 to get my hands on Prey.

snapsprey-about-e3-2016-on-ignnujpg-bf66e0_640w

 

Prey has this creepy / horror BioShock vibe going on which I really like, also has a vibe of Alien Isolation of you being trapped aboard this space station that has turned upside down and you have to find a way to escape, also I like that they rebooted it. I can’t wait to see more.

What’s your Game of the Show for E3 2016? Sound off below!

Honourable Mentions:

Dishonored 2

South Park: The Fractured But Whole

Mafia III. 

 

Leave a Reply

