My Thoughts on RPGs:A Weekly Series: My Conflicts with Fallout 4 and it’s DLC’s

NukaWorld_Raiders_730x411
From Nuka World, the last Expansion to Fallout 4.

 

The longer something stays out of reach, the longer you start to lose interest or don’t see the understanding behind it. I’ve been conflicted alot about videogames, what to choose to play, what to pick up, etc but nothing like this. It’s put us on quite a journey, that stretches to October of 2008 and to October of 2010 and to the rumor mills of 2012 when Kotaku leaked that Fallout 4 would be set in the East Coast once again, this time in Boston and wouldn’t feature Ron Perlman. It’s been nearly 7 years since we last had a proper Fallout game, Fallout 4 launched in November of 2015 and I suspect that we won’t see another Fallout until the next decade ( 2020s.) , what we saw once the game dropped in November, it seemed like the whole world stopped for a minute and picked up the most anticipated RPG that wasn’t Final Fantasy XV, and the world moved again but with a renewed interest in Fallout once again.

I was enraptured with it, giving it a 10/10 and seeing positive lights, instead of all the negative lights, everyone who loves RPG’s saw it as. I praised the speech, I praised the mechanics, down to the story and hoping it would lead us to another expansion like Broken Steel, I praised everything about Fallout 4 ¬†and now that praise is dying down, seeing Fallout 4 for what it is. It’s a still a good game, Bethesda style game but it isn’t an RPG. Sure, it has RPG mechanics, fundamentally at it’s core, it’s an RPG but it isn’t a “Fallout” game, it’s more of a shooter then a “Fallout” game which is fine but me with everyone else wants it to be a “Fallout” game.

Part of me should feel like I should be angry at Fallout 4, and part of me wants to love it with all my being because this was the game that I was expecting for nearly 7 years, hoping for anything to come out in between 2008 and 2015, tortured by pranks and hoaxs and being happy when Fallout came back into our lives this past November and then the DLC’s start dropping, that’s when I felt this conflict.

Fallout4_FarHarbor_Coast_730x411
Bar Harbor, Maine ( From Fallout 4: Far Harbor.)

 

Fallout 4’s DLCs and Expansions have been totally mediocre, with three or four expansions totally dealing with settlements and only two were about Story content ( Far Harbor and the upcoming Nuka World.) , Fallout 4’s Expansions are good, but not phenomenal like Fallout 3’s or Fallout: New Vegas’s were. Having been spoiled by The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt and it’s two expansions: Hearts of Stone and Blood and Wine, having played the Witcher 3 and having played those expansions, that’s the way I see now. Those games are proper ways to do a RPG and do an Expansion pack, not a 5 hour expansion that deals with settlements or a 3-5ish hours of building a Vault, that’s the why I see now.

When I first played Automatron, I was like cool, hopefully there’s more story expansions and then the fourth, fifth expansion dropped a few months later, and I started to lose faith in Fallout 4 which is fundamentally a great game but I just wished something more was done to push Fallout 4 further then just a prettier Fallout 3 with Settlement building.

On the other hand, I really love Fallout 4 while hating the entire thing, down to the speech and RPG mechanics like that perk chart, or not having the repair / speech thing that made you sound smart in Fallout 3 or New Vegas. ¬†Fallout 4 isn’t a “Fallout” game, it just isn’t and that’s what makes Fallout 4 sorta disappointing. If I reviewed Fallout 4 now, I would give it a 9.40 or 9.30 / 10, which is great but it’s not a masterpiece like The Witcher 3 is.

Hopefully, Fallout 5 or whatever the next Fallout is has the mechanics and RPGness that Fallout is known for instead of a shooter that feels good. So, here’s to the future and to walking another long road until we see Fallout once again.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close