Mafia III: First Impressions

why-mafia-iii-should-tackle-race-head-on-body-image-1471900539-size_1000

 

First thing first about Mafia III, is that I really like it and I’m really digging it despite having a hard time with it’s language but I’m slowly coming to grips with it as part of the era that Mafia III takes place in.

I loved the original Mafia and Mafia II, Mafia II was a linear shooter with an open world that was empty and very boring to be in but it was a excellent period piece about a soldier who has returned home in 1945 and falls in with the Italian Mafia, it was a beautiful game and Mafia III builds upon that and is more akin to Mafia II, naturally.

It’s more of an open world game then Mafia II was but somehow it still feels sorta empty which is a disappointment but I hope this changes once I get to the middle of the game. It has fewer scripted missions and you can do things at your leisure which is fine by me, because I’m a sucker for crime games.

Nonethless, I’m still enjoying my time in New Bordeux which is the ingame version of New Orleans, the game gives off a unique southern feeling that you don’t often feel in games like GTA or even Mafia II despite the time period of 1968, Mafia III gives off a unique southern feeling in terms of open world crime games that you don’t get. The graphics aren’t the graphics of GTA V but it still is a looker, the sunlight how it reflects off your car, the way how the bullets come out of a Tommy Gun or a M1A1 Carbine, and impressive lightning. It’s a looker.

2k_mafia3_e3_city_drive1

 

Also the best part of Mafia III is that it’s a game that has style and flamboyance and it’s very Scorsese-like which is a great thing. The soundtrack is one of the best soundtracks I’ve heard when it comes to open world crime games, the story is your standard revenge tale but told confidently and uniquely that it doesn’t give off another eye roll of here’s the revenge trope again, also it’s nice to see my boy Vito Scaletta again.

The setting of 1968 in the South gives off a very interesting gameplay mechanics when you’re driving or walking about New Bordeux, for example, I walked into a bar to check what was going on inside like how I am with most games, I’m curious so I walk in there and the bartender shouts racist words at me so I walked out before he called the cops, you get these mechanics wherever you go and it sinks that Hanger 13 isn’t shying away of what occurred in the middle of the 20th century.

So far, Mafia III isn’t the best crime game I’ve played or isn’t the best open world game I’ve played but it’s certainly scratching an itch that I had since completing GTA V.

Leave a Reply

