How “Overwatch” Became One of My Favorite Games of the Year

dva-screenshot-002

 

The year is late and the year is coming to an end. By now, I have a few top picks for the end of the year awards which will come in Game of the Year. From Battlefield 1 to Overwatch, 2016 has been a pretty good year for games. One of these games has been Overwatch, the masterpiece game by Blizzard.

At first, I was hesitant about Overwatch and I was really hesitant on picking it up due to the burnt feeling that I had last year with games like Star Wars: Battlefront and Evolve, two games that were lacking in the content. My thoughts didn’t change until a few more matches and that’s when I saw what Overwatch was really about and I fell in love with the game. It’s the game that brought me back into Multiplayer experiences.

The game is an absolute classic of a multiplayer game, the gameplay is filled with moment to moment action and no match is ever same. The characters are an absolute gem, they’re funny, charming, serious, you can relate to them, and it’s an absolute blast to play with them.  It’s a little bit short on the content but that’s okay, there’s loads and loads of memories to be made with Overwatch and that’s what I love about the game.

It’s a fantastic game, it’s surely one of my favorites. The first match I got into I was a little bit skeptical, I was asked to be what character I would want to be and of course, I chose the game’s mascot, Tracer and I went to work and learning how the game works and soon, I stuck with her as the game progressed and the game went further and further away from the launch date until I decided to change things up.

On the third or fourth match, that’s when my perspective started to change on Overwatch. By now, I got the hang of the game and I started to experiment with other characters but always going back to Tracer and I started to see what the game was really about. That’s when I started to see this game as a masterpiece.

tracer-screenshot-004

 

I thought I would never see the day that a game that was multiplayer only would rival the likes of Team Fortress 2, Day of Defeat, Call of Duty 2 ( MP.) , and Counter-Strike but Overwatch was that answer. Overwatch is one of the best multiplayer shooters to arrive in years, the last time that I enjoyed a multiplayer shooter was probably Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and Call of Duty: Black Ops and this game blew me out of the water.

I thought I would never see the day where a multiplayer only shooter would have so much personality like Team Fortress 2 and Counter-Strike and not as much as fun as those two are but Overwatch was that answer.

Overwatch is one of the best games of the year, and I hope it wins Game of the Year because it deserves it and rightfully so.

Leave a Reply

