Why “The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion” Is One of the Best Games I’ve Ever Played

oblivion-2

Oblivion turned 10 years old this past March, and in 2017 it will turn 11. Oblivion is a game that I cherish.

Oblivion was truly my first open world RPG game since I completed Morrowind in 2004, it had stunning visuals, a vast world, a deep storyline and hundreds and hundreds of hours of sidequests and walking around Cyrodill.

Few games can capture a sense and wonder and exploration that can be found within Bethesda’s games. Oblivion captured this, before we were introduced to Fallout 3. When you created your character and escaped the prison cell and the sewers, the world of Cyrodiil was breathtaking. The countryside of Cyrodill looked alot like the varied landscape of America. It had rolling hills, dense forests, murky swamps, and gorgeous landscapes.

One of my favorite parts of Oblivion were The Dark Brotherhood. It felt like you were in the precursor to the medieval assassins of Assassin’s Creed before the game released in the following year. The missions were entertaining and fun, and were a test if you can get away with murdering a NPC.

Another part was The Thieves Guild. I think this solidified  my stealing habits in Fallout 3 and Fallout 4, I loved to steal things in Oblivion. If you completed missions, the game would grant you rewards. The Boots of Springheel Jak, which increased your aerobatics by 50 and the Gray Cowl of Nocturnal that allowed you to see enemies within 120 feet and carry more gear and everything bad that you committed within the game was let go as you were a persona within a mask. Like a vigilante.

the_gray_fox1
The Grey Fox.

Another part of the game which I really liked was the DLC and that’s what I remember the most out of Oblivion, other then the main game. Also Horse Armor 😉 , and I personally think that everything that Bethesda dropped post-launch is one of the benchmarks for expansion packs within a Western RPG.  The Knights of the Nine and The Shivering Isles are one of the best expansion packs I’ve ever played and it stacks as one of the best Bethesda expansion packs, they were great add-ons.

One of the memories I remember out of The Shivering Isles was Sheogorath, the god that you meet again in Whiterun in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. The Shivering Isles has one of the best characters in the entire game and that is the Daedric Prince, Sheogorath. This prankster uses the Shivering Isles as his playground, making the mortals insane. Also he spouts some of the most memorable quotes I’ve heard in a Bethesda Game up to that point, he’s a conversationalist.

I think personally what makes Oblivion so memorable is the unexpected. You’ll never see quests coming and those are one of the best quests. Sleeping in the Bloated Float Inn won’t get you a good night rest, Brigands hijack the ship and when you awake, you’re at sea. In order to return to the port, you must slaughter them all. That’s a nice refund, don’t you think?

2005

And the last are Mods. The modders reworked the game and they made the game even better, they redid ugly textures and reworked faces and reworked things ingame, and placed in things that Bethesda should have had which included Saddle Bags. Revamp the maps, carry more loot, added more creatures, they made Oblivion even more greater then it was already.

I love Oblivion. It’s one of the greatest games ever made. It’s one of the finest games that Bethesda had made since Morrowind, and that was a mere two years before Bethesda would stun the world again with Fallout 3.

What do you love about Oblivion? Sound off in the comments below.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I haven’t played it yet, believe it or not. I own Morrowind but haven’t started that yet either. I’m way behind on the Elder Scrolls games, sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I much prefer Oblivion to Slyrim if I’m honest. I think the kind of huge scale open world rpg had become a little overplayed by the time the latter came out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too. I much prefer Oblivion, I like that world and the environment alot in TES IV.

      Plus I don’t think Skyrim did much for me in the form of being excited or feeling excited to play the game, much like Oblivion did for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

