Nintendo Switch Recap

drop-610

The community is buzzing about the Nintendo Switch’s reveal on Thursday night, from first party games to the third party support that they desperately needed for years since the Wii U crashed and burn. There’s alot to unpack.

To be honest with you, I didn’t write any notes seeing that I wouldn’t probably watch it but I decided to and hopped on right before it began and watched the Pre-Show on IGN, and after watching the entire thing and going to bed, I decided to write about it and I felt inspired to give my thoughts in a review sort of way.

The presentation wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great either, apart from Zelda and Mario that is but it wasn’t anything too great like I was expecting. After  hearing the fine folks at IGN talk over their predictions, the presentation started and we were in it now. They recapped the basic idea of the Switch and as the conference went along, I slowly found myself laughing at the thought that we had just traveled all the way back to 2006 with the new controllers, it reminded me heavily of E3 2006.

The controllers were gimmicky and it is an idea that further pushed the Wii remotes, something that allows for movement and motion within games, I don’t personally think that the new controllers didn’t do anything for anybody and I don’t think that they really are for anybody. The whole entire portion of the controllers and the “1,2, Switch” game was super cringe-y. Here’s what I thought about it:

arms-2

ARMS  was a complete cringe because it has to be used with the joy con, if the game wasn’t based around the usage of the controllers I might have been sold. I’ve played Wii Sports when my friend invited me over to try the Wii way back when and it’s something that I totally regret.

Splatoon 2 looks pretty cool, Splatoon was big three years ago and this game looks astonishing. It looks to be a pretty good improvement for the original, I guess.

Another game which took me by surprise was Super Mario Odyssey, it was a complete knock out of the park for Nintendo. I was pretty astonished by the reveal trailer and also NEW DONK CITY! Oh yes, you can use his hat as a weapon and as a platform? YAASSSSS.

I was surprised to see EA and Bethesda Game Studios there to promote FIFA and Skyrim respectively, but it didn’t surprise me to see Skyrim there but it did surprise me that Todd and Bethesda Game Studio’s is doing something with Nintendo, maybe they will make a Switch exclusive? FIFA is FIFA, so I shouldn’t really mention it here since it’s FIFA basically, and we all know what FIFA is about.

Finally, they showed Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild something that alot of people were looking forward to since it’s reveal three years ago at E3, the trailer was extremely beautiful and very eye-opening. There’s something special about Breath of the Wild and I have an assumption that’s pretty obvious that most outlets might give it Game of the Year at the end of 2017.

zelda610

At the end of the conference, I started to think E3 2017 which is 6 months away from writing and I hope they actually show some new things and they actually need to care this time, they really haven’t taken E3 that seriously for the past number of years, maybe since 2014 or 2015 and it’s really important for them to come out swinging at E3.

What do you think of the Nintendo Switch presentation? Sound off!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I was really surprised by how awesome that Mario game looked. I’ve shamefully preordered mine already… I have a weakness for Nintendo things, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a weakness for most things, except Nintendo. Not sure why, perhaps it’s because I never really grew up with their games, I remember my friend got a NES when it came out and I played a few games on it but I couldn’t get into it, by then I was exposed to the granddaddy FPS games. Oh well.. I did play some of their games on Gamecube at my friend’s house, he has a weakness for Nintendo as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

